Orwins, the legal services group backed by Aliter Capital, announced an investment in the Reading commercial firm Clarkslegal in May 2026. Aliter’s release says the sum was undisclosed and gives no stake. Clarkslegal was the third firm in the group’s sequence after BBS Law and Carter Bond, and Aliter lists two further investments since.
Correct as at 15 October 2026.
The dated fact
On 28 May 2026, Orwins launched its new brand identity alongside its investment in Clarkslegal. Clarkslegal’s own release opens: "has today, 28 May 2026, announced a significant investment in Reading-based commercial law firm Clarkslegal". Aliter’s release describes Orwins as "the Aliter backed legal services group" and calls the deal a transaction "for an undisclosed sum". The rules for dating and sourcing a deal report are on How We Source a Deal.
Deal record
| Date | Target | Buyer/Backer | Sector | Type | Stake disclosed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2026 | Clarkslegal (Reading) | Orwins; backed by Aliter Capital | Legal services | Investment (legal form not stated) | No | Aliter Capital release; Aliter Orwins page |
The buyer and backer
Orwins is the group name adopted in May 2026. Aliter’s Orwins case study says the firm’s team of almost 250 people works from offices in Manchester, London, Reading, Newcastle upon Tyne and Leeds. Aliter Capital LLP states that it is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.
Context
Aliter dates its first investment in the group to October 2024, in BBS Law. Carter Bond followed in August 2025. After Clarkslegal came Clarke Mairs in July 2026 and Milners in August 2026. Figures on private equity investment in UK law firms for 2025 are in our Tally note PE put about £250m into UK law firms in 2025.
The release describes Clarkslegal as a full-service commercial firm in Reading with a 40-strong team led by nine partners. Its stated specialisms are employment and immigration, commercial litigation, corporate and commercial property. The release does not describe Clarkslegal’s previous ownership.
It also says Aliter was working with the Orwins team on several further investments that year.
What has not been disclosed
- Consideration, and any stake acquired.
- The legal form of the transaction. The release uses "investment" and does not say what was bought.
- Whether partners reinvested or retained equity. The Aliter release is silent on this.
- Funding structure and any deferred element.
Sources
- Aliter Capital: Newly rebranded legal services group, Orwins, invests in Clarkslegal
- Aliter Capital: Orwins case study
- Clarkslegal: release of 28 May 2026. The release says "has today, 28 May 2026, announced a significant investment in Reading-based commercial law firm Clarkslegal".
Editorial assessment
Treat the next points as the desk’s interpretation of the public record; the filings themselves do not say this.
- The group’s own listing shows three investments between May and August 2026, against two in the previous twenty months. That is an editorial reading of the dates.
- Price, stake and partner terms are absent from the release. Partners weighing a similar approach cannot benchmark terms from this announcement.
Summary
| Item | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Announcement | May 2026 | Aliter Orwins page |
| Consideration | Undisclosed | Aliter release |
| Stake | Not stated | Aliter release |
| Target team | 40, led by nine partners | Aliter release |
| Target base | Reading | Aliter release |
| Backer status | FCA authorised and regulated | Aliter release |
| Earlier investments | BBS Law, October 2024; Carter Bond, August 2025 | Aliter release |
| Later investments | Clarke Mairs, July 2026; Milners, August 2026 | Aliter Orwins page |
| Group size | Almost 250 people | Aliter Orwins page |
| Previous ownership of target | Not stated | Aliter release |
| Partner equity terms | Not stated | Aliter release |



