HF, the law firm in which CBPE holds a minority stake, agreed to acquire Hempsons on 5 May 2026. The purchase completed on 30 June 2026 after SRA approval. Neither HF release states a price. The Hempsons announcement does not name CBPE, so CBPE’s role in the deal, if any, is not on the public record.
Current as at 15 October 2026.
What was announced
HF’s release of 5 May 2026 describes Hempsons as "a prominent name in their primary sectors of health, social care and charity", with the deal subject to SRA approval. It puts Hempsons at "c. 250 employees in 5 offices across the country". Integration is to run through TUPE, overseen by a joint leadership team. The rules for dating and sourcing a deal report are on How We Source a Deal.
HF’s follow-up release says the SRA gave its approval and "the move completed on 30 June 2026".
Deal table
| Date | Target | Buyer/Backer | Sector | Type | Stake disclosed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 May 2026 | Hempsons | HF | Health, social care and charity law | Acquisition agreed, subject to SRA approval | No | HF release |
| 30 June 2026 | Hempsons | HF | Health, social care and charity law | Completion after SRA approval | No | HF release |
| December 2024 (announced) | HF | CBPE | Legal services to insurers and corporates | Minority investment | Minority; percentage not stated | HF release |
What is known about the buyer
The buyer is HF. HF’s pages carry the line "Authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (No.817849)". HF describes itself as "one of a small number of law firms structured as a limited company", a structure it says was introduced for an all-employee share scheme. CBPE’s partners said the business "transitioned from a partnership to corporate in 2021".
CBPE "has acquired a minority stake in HF", and HF said its team would retain the majority. In December 2024 the CBPE partners said they were backing HF for organic growth, technology investment and "targeted M&A". Hempsons is an acquisition of that kind. Whether CBPE capital funded it is not stated in the releases.
Context
HF has since announced a further purchase, of three Dublin businesses, Ennis, Matrix and Cardinal. HF described them as sister firms with "a total of c. 60 employees". Hempsons’ own news page records that the combined businesses were named on a public-sector legal framework, RM6374. Figures on private equity investment in UK law firms for 2025 are in our Tally note PE put about £250m into UK law firms in 2025.
What has not been disclosed
- Price, structure and any deferred or contingent element of the Hempsons purchase.
- How the purchase was financed, and whether CBPE took part.
- CBPE’s percentage in HF. HF’s release says only that "The terms of the transaction are undisclosed." Trade press has reported 30% The Companies House PSC register for HF Limited (company 13200208) lists HF Bidco Limited as its one active person with significant control, with 75% or more of shares and voting rights, notified on 25 March 2025. It does not name CBPE or give a CBPE percentage, and neither party has stated one.
- Terms for Hempsons LLP’s members. The release speaks of staff transferring under TUPE.
Sources
- HF Acquires Hempsons LLP, HF, 5 May 2026
- SRA approval sees Hempsons officially join HF, HF, 1 July 2026
- HF Announces Investment by Private Equity Firm CBPE, HF, 19 December 2024
- HF Announces Completion of Investment by CBPE, HF, 25 March 2025
- HF Acquires Ennis, Matrix & Cardinal in Dublin, HF
- Hempsons news articles, Hempsons
- Companies House: persons with significant control, HF Limited
Editorial assessment
The points below are the editors’ reading of the registers and filings above; none of them is stated in those sources.
- The Hempsons release is silent on CBPE. A reader should not infer investor funding or investor approval from the group’s ownership alone.
- With no price or stake published, no multiple can be derived. Any comparison must wait for filed accounts or register entries.
- The release describes a firm-level acquisition with TUPE transfers, not a merger of partnerships. Partners in LLPs weighing similar approaches would need the member-level terms, which are not public here.
Summary table
| Item | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Announcement date | 5 May 2026 | HF release |
| Completion date | 30 June 2026 | HF release, 1 July 2026 |
| Regulatory condition | SRA approval | HF releases |
| Target headcount | c. 250 employees in 5 offices | HF release |
| Target sectors | Health, social care and charity | HF release |
| Consideration | Not disclosed | HF releases |
| CBPE stake in HF | Minority; percentage not stated by HF | HF release, 2025 |
| CBPE role in Hempsons deal | Not stated | Editorial reading of release |
| Integration route | TUPE, joint leadership team | HF release |
| Later HF deal | Dublin firms, c. 60 employees | HF release |
| Post-deal framework | RM6374 | Hempsons news page |



